Hill elected Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year semifinalist

University of South Carolina senior quarterback redshirt Collin Hill Has one of the 14 Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year semifinalists was named, the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced this afternoon (Monday, December 21) in association with the Associated Press (AP) and the Fiesta Bowl Organization.

The three winners will be selected by a vote by AP football writers and announced on January 2, 2021 in conjunction with the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl.

USC Athletics Communications and Public Relations

Hill, a native of Moore, SC, and a graduate transferred from Colorado State, started eight competitions for the Gamecocks this season and went through 1,411 yards and six touchdowns while racing for four touchdowns this season. In a victory over Auburn on October 17, Hill made it 15 to 24 for 144 yards and a touchdown to go along with an accelerated score. Hill opened the season playing for 290 yards against Tennessee (September 26th) and had 28 submissions for 212 yards and two touchdowns in Florida (October 3rd).

Hill won the title of starting quarterback from the training ground after losing most of the 2019 season after an ACL injury sustained in the third game of the season. It was the third ACL surgery of his career on the left knee (2016 and 2018).

South Carolina is the only school to have Mayo Clinic Comeback semifinalists as Player of the Year in all three seasons in the award’s history. Deebo Samuel (2018) and DJ Wonnum (2019) were also nominated for the list of awards.

Since 2018, a panel of sports information writers, editors and directors from CoSIDA, AP and Touchdown Illustrated have recognized college football student-athletes each season from all divisions of college football for overcoming injuries or illnesses, sharing their notables. return stories.

2020 Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Semifinalists
Jarek Broussard, RB, Colorado
Evan Finegan, P, Buffalo
Feleipe Franks, QB, Arkansas
Jake Funk, RB, Maryland
Daelin Hayes, DE, Notre Dame
Collin Hill, QB, South Carolina
Kenneth Horsey, OL, Kentucky
Silas Kelly, LB, Coastal Carolina
Erick Kendzior, DL, Louisiana Tech
Dylan Moses, LB, Alabama
Kyle Pugh, LB, Northern Illinois
Tylan Wallace, WR, Oklahoma
Rashad Weaver, DL, Pittsburgh
James Wiggins, S, Cincinnati