Alabama teammates Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith among the Heisman Trophy finalists

Alabama teammates Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith, along with Trevor Lawrence of Clemson and Kyle Trask of Florida, were named finalists for the Heisman Trophy. Heisman will be awarded on January 5 during a virtual ceremony. O coronavirus pandemic forced the cancellation of the usual trip to New York for the delivery of the trophy that normally comes with being a finalist.

Jones and Smith are the eighth set of teammates to be finalists together since the tradition began in 1982. Smith is trying to become the first wide receiver to win Heisman since Michigan’s Desmond Howard in 1991.

If it is not Smith, who leads the country in receptions (98) and receiving yards (1,511), the winner will be a defender for the 13th time in the last 15 years.

Jones leads the country in efficiency rating (202.34), completion percentage (76.5) and yards per pass (11.4), with 32 touchdown passes.

Crimson Tide, who is at the top of the ranking, will play No. 4 Notre Dame in the semifinals of the College Football Playoff on January 1st.

Jones or Smith would become the third Heisman winner in Alabama, but first this is not a running back. Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015) were the first winners of Tide’s Heisman.

Lawrence was the pre-season favorite to win the prize, but losing two games after signing COVID-19 delayed his campaign. The junior quarterback and the presumed first choice in the next NFL draft did not play against Boston College and Notre Dame.

He played in the Atlantic Coast Conference championship rematch against Fighting Irish last weekend and led the Tigers to a resounding victory. In the season, Lawrence shot for 2,753 yards and 22 touchdowns in nine games, helping Clemson make it to the playoff for the third time in his career.

No. 2 Clemson plays No. 3 Ohio State in the Sugar Bowl semifinals on January 1. Lawrence would be the first winner of the Tigers’ Heisman.

Trask leads the country with 43 touchdown passes and 4,125 yards. The veteran is trying to join Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel and Tim Tebow as Heisman-winner Florida quarterback.

The rest of the top 10 was revealed in order, starting with Alabama running back Najee Harris.

Iowa state running back, Breece Hall, was sixth, followed by Ohio state quarterback Justin Fields, BYU quarterback Zach Wilson, Notre Dame quarterback Ian Book and Florida tight end Kyle Pitts.